Historic Bramalea Photos

I would like to start a new series on this blog to share older photos that people have of Bramalea. I am sure that many of my readers have photos of Bramalea from the early years and/or when it was being built. In particular I am interested in photos of houses, buildings and streetscapes. You can send these photos to me at Bramaleablog@gmail.com and I will share as many as I can.

Here is the first batch that a blog reader sent to me. A big thank you to Nigel Carpenter for allowing me to share these photos courtesy of John Carpenter of the E-Section being built. In particular many of these are of Edgebrook Crescent being built, c. 1968.

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

My beautiful picture

 

3 thoughts on “Historic Bramalea Photos

  1. I recall the E section being built. I lived on Danesbury Cresent. Danesbury is one block behind Balmoral Drive. I believe you are seeing Balmoral Drive in one of the photos.
    The photos bring back a lot of memories. There was a farm house, and a barn and open fields before the construction began. Note – no fences for safety. I recall a young boy was killed playing in the E section. Electrocuted, I think. Yes, we played in construction back in those days.
    The farm house was converted to a church It was later replaced by an actual church building.
    I, also, remember the large flat bed trucks bringing in the houses. It was something to watch. Balmoral Drive would be blocked off for duration. I recall Southgate mall being built. It meant that we no longer had to walk the long route to Avondale Mall. That was a big improvement for us in the newer part of Bramalea. .

    thank you for writing this blog. It is most interesting. I most enjoyed learning about the C section. I,always, wondered about those gates. I would tease my C section friends about them. Now I know why they exist.
    V.R.

    • Hi Val, I lived on Danesbury too.. (the other end)..I remember your sister Jeannie and you brother John. The boy that you are talking about that was electrocuted had the last name of Van deVan. They lived behind me on Balmoral

Leave a Reply

